Thursday, September 29, 2016

Video of the Day: "Upside of Sorrow" by Don't Make Ghosts

Oklahoma City's Don't Make Ghosts recently premiered the video for their song "Upside of Sorrow" on For the Love of Punk.  The video is a mixture of live footage, the band practicing in their garage (along with some dancing kids), and in the studio recording.  Its simplicity perfectly captures the heart and personality of this band and its members as individuals.  Personally I got a real kick out of seeing guys that I have known for nearly two decades in an actual music video (something that was a big deal back when we met in our twenties).  The song comes from the band's stellar debut EP Death Ride, but don't just take my word for it, the folks over at Dying Scene love the record too.  

The band will be playing a CD release show, Saturday October 1st at the 51st Street Speakeasy with Black Canyon and Shut Up Matt Jewett.  For more information on the show, check out its Facebook event page.

Song: "Upside of Sorrow"
Artist:  Don't Make Ghosts (Official, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, BandCamp, SquareUp)
EP:  Death Ride (BandCamp, Death to False Hope Records)

Monday, September 26, 2016

Currently Listening

1.  "Spin the Dial" by Beach Slang (from A Loud Bash of Teenage Feelings)
2.  "Younger Us" by Japandroids (from Celebration Rock)
3.  "Alright" by The Gomes (from Pronounced Nirvana)
4.  "You're Gonna Be Golden" by Signals Midwest (from At This Age)
5.  "Don't Have To Wait" by Nothington (from Borrowed Time)
6.  "Daisy" by The Winter Passing (from A Different Space of Mind)
7.  "Colourview" by Muskets (from Spin)
8.  "Graveyard Shift" by Uncle Tupelo (from No Depression)
9.  "Wave Goodnight To Me" by Jeff Rosenstock (from Wave Goodnight To Me)
10.  "Can't Say I Quit" by Wolves & Wolves & Wolves & Wolves (from The Cross and The Switchblade)
11.  "Lookers" by The Menzingers (from Lookers)
12.  "City Lights" by The GC5 (from Kisses From Hanoi / Horseshoes & Handgrenades)
13.  "Sally, I've Been Shot" by Two Cow Garage (from Sweet Saint Me)
14.  "Teenage FBI" by Guided By Voices (from Human Amusements at Hourly Rates - The Best of Guided By Voices)

Monday, September 19, 2016

Great Band Alert: Old Fox Road

Hailing from Champaign, IL, Old Fox Road is a fantastically tight and ridiculously catchy pop punk band, as beautifully highlighted on their latest EP Moving Out.  In three short years, the band has toured the country and churned out three excellent EPs, with no signs of slowing down.  Old Fox Road is a band that shows HUGE promise (just look at their progression from acoustic folk punk on their debut EP I'll Get Over It to now) and is most definitely one to watch!

For more information on Old Fox Road check out the band's Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, BandCamp, and Storenvy pages.

Saturday, September 17, 2016

Currently Listening

1.  "Bad Name" by Wolves & Wolves & Wolves & Wolves (from The Cross and The Switchblade)
2.  "Down With The Kids" by Teenage Frames (from More Songs, Less Music)
3.  "Alright" by The Gomes (Pronounced Nirvana)
4.  "Superstar" by Pegboy (from Strong Reaction)
5.  "Punks in a Disco Bar" by Beach Slang (from Punks in a Disco Bar)
6.  "Waiting AWay" by Doughboys (from Home Again)
7.  "Move Like a Ghost" by toyGuitar (from Move Like a Ghost)
8.  "Bleedin' Heart Trouble" by Bear Trade (from Blood & Sand)
9.  "Don't Go to College" by The Rentiers (from Don't Go to College)
10.  "Sitting Still" by R.E.M. (from Murmur)
11.  "Invisible Tonight" by Low Culture (from Places to Hide)
12.  "What You Do To Me" by Teenage Fanclub (from Bandwagonesque)
13.  "Teenage Fanclub" by Get Fired (from Things That Are Not Rocket Science)

Monday, September 12, 2016

Album Review: 'The Cross and The Switchblade' by Wolves & Wolves & Wolves & Wolves

Title:  The Cross and The Switchblade (Wiretap Records, Gunner Records, BandCamp [Wiretap])
Artist:  Wolves & Wolves & Wolves & Wolves (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube, BandCamp)

Wolves & Wolves & Wolves & Wolves' sophomore full-length The Cross and The Switchblade is nothing short of sensational.  The Winston-Salem, NC quartet have perfected their sound precisely mixing elements of melodic and post hardcore, classic rock, alt country, and straight up punk with undeniable heart, driving energy, honesty, and purposefully poignant lyrics.  From the opening snarl of "Give Me Conviction" to the final crescendo of "Cathedral" The Cross and The Switchblade shreds and hits home with 10 anthems that challenge you to not sing along with all your heart.

Since forming in 2013, Wolves & Wolves & Wolves & Wolves have released two full-length albums and two EPs, all of which are fantastic but The Cross and The Switchblade is most definitely the band's magnum opus.  This is pretty much a flawless and certainly a timeless record.  Some records you hear and love but over the years you lose touch with those songs, only occasionally returning to them out of feelings of nostalgia.  This is not one of those records.  With each listen, you find new dynamics, new folds and twists, new lyrics that grab your heart, making you realize that you may never find all the layers but can't wait to keep trying.

Wednesday, August 31, 2016

Currently Listening

1.  "Shine" by Doughboys (from Crush)
2.  "Goin' Down" by Dinosaur Jr. (from Give a Glimpse of What Yer Not)
3.  "Talkin' Bout a Revolution" by Leatherface (from Razor Blades and Aspirin: 1990-1993)
4.  "Thanks Obama" by Adam Darowski (from Yay!)
5.  "Your Favorite Thing" by Sugar (from File Under: Easy Listening)
6.  "Punks In A Disco Bar" by Beach Slang (from Punks In A Disco Bar)
7.  "Hungry" by White Lung (from Paradise)
8.  "Lay It Down" by Magnapop (from Hot Boxing)
9.  "Vertigo Flowers" by Nothing (from Tired of Tomorrow)
10.  "Letter To Memphis" by Pixies (from Trompe Le Monde)
11.  "A Song for the Reptoids of Denver International Airport to Sing" by Deforesters (from Deforesters)
12.  "Between Planets" by The Jesus & Mary Chain (from Automatic)